Day 5 – An acquired taste

Matthew 5:6 You’re blessed when you’ve worked up a good appetite for God. He’s food and drink in the best meal you’ll ever eat.

When I sat down to speak to my dietician I just knew she was going to give me a list of all the things I shouldn’t be eating. She didn’t. She did just the opposite. She gave me a list of things to start increasing or adding to my diet. I had to add fruit, vegetables, and more whole oats to my diet, and I was also encouraged to add more movement to my day.

Well, I’ve at least started doing these things and the funniest thing happened. I went from hating vegetables to craving salad and veggies. I went from hating exercise to loving walking and working out. Some days I am more motivated than others, however the more I do and add these things, the more I acquire the taste for it.

I think that’s the way we work up our appetites for God. Instead of being so focused on what we can’t do, we need to focus on what we can do. Add prayer, simple short ones that you mean. Add bible reading and meditation, and exercise what you learn as often as you can. Some days you may do better than others, but just keep doing it. Don’t ever stop! Before you know it, you would have worked up a good appetite for God and you’ll be blessed.

2 thoughts on “Day 5 – An acquired taste

  1. What sweet simplicity! I can keep allowing myself to become overwhelmed by trying to be and do everything I think I should be and do, or I can keep it simple and just add these things each day. And not beat myself up for not doing them.

Leave a Reply

