Day 7 – Inside Out

Matthew 5:8 “You’re blessed when you get your inside world – your mind and heart – put right. Then you can see God in the outside world

As a zealous Christian teen I used to tell my friends; I don’t belong to a religion (institutionalized) I have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. It might have been true then but I’m afraid over the years even my churches that promote personal relationship with Jesus have forgotten the meaning of the word personal. Instead we have learned and emphasized words like corporate, and mandatory.

I’ve learned these words too and at times I can find myself doing things, which should otherwise be worship, simply to be in compliance with the rule of man. This will never do. Performance never impresses God heart does. What He is after is a change of the heart and the soul. What God desires is that what I do on the outside in always as a result of a change on the inside based on Him.

Outlandish devotion dictates that I can’t live as if I am under the historic law. I am bond to live as if I am under grace and as such I must live graciously or inside out.

4 thoughts on “Day 7 – Inside Out

  1. I have read your devotion for today, and I do agree with you 100%
    God does hate performances.. I’ll be back tomorrow.. be blessed.

  2. Yeah, I want something more personal. I know we shouldn’t seek to be loners, but I think my boundaries have been violated by the institution of the church countless times.

    I love God, but as you say, Jesus help me to endure your followers.

Leave a Reply

