Day 14 – Say what you mean

Matthew 5:33 “And don’t say anything you don’t mean. This counsel is embedded deep in our traditions. 34 You only make things worse when you lay down a smoke screen of pious talk, saying, ‘I’ll pray for you,’ and never doing it, or saying, ‘God be with you,’ and not meaning it. You don’t make your words true by embellishing them with religious lace. In making your speech sound more religious, it becomes less true. 35 36 37 Just say ‘yes’ and ‘no.’ When you manipulate words to get your own way, you go wrong.

In the people pleasing procession we find ourselves parading in at times, it’s easy to fall into the habit of saying what is expected or what is PC (Politically Correct) or even more accurately, what is religiously correct. Christ encourages the day we answer questions honestly. Take as an example the question, how are you doing? There as those who feel less spiritual to say, not good or it’s been a rough day. Christ says, say what you mean and mean what you say. This new way of living is outlandish, and this is one of the reasons why. Tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth at all times.

6 thoughts on “Day 14 – Say what you mean

  1. How am I doing?

    I have a cold and am tired and the back of my throat is a bit scratchy. I can only breathe out of my left nose (LOL) and that somehow makes my right eye water. I’m freaking out because my financial situation is about to spiral completely out of my control and it’s not even MY fault. I’m back and forth between apathetic, worried sick and somewhat hopeful at times. I’m so glad to be comfy and at peace in my new apartment and I’m proud to say that it’s still clean after 3 weeks. Oh, and I have my period. A little more crampy than usual. But only required one Motrin rescue mission so far.

    Thanks for asking!

  2. And there you have it! Honesty!

    I love how God is telling us to quit the fluffin’ and bluffin’ and just be real. That’s what I’M saying!

    I always knew God was cooler than people made Him out to be.

  3. When I answer honestly, the person freezes or just stares at me. I don’t want to make nice people uncomfortable. While I don’t like drivel, I can appreciate when people use standard expressions to be friendly, even if they don’t mean them.

    On the other hand, an answer like Lex’s puts the questioner on much better footing as to how to proceed.

  4. I don’t lie. (I prefer that to any reference to honesty because I think it’s clearer.) I pride myself on doing what I say, so I make few promises.

Leave a Reply

