Day 15 – Live Generously

Matthew 5:38 “Here’s another old saying that deserves a second look: ‘Eye for eye, tooth for tooth.’ 39 Is that going to get us anywhere? Here’s what I propose: ‘Don’t hit back at all.’ If someone strikes you, stand there and take it. 40 If someone drags you into court and sues for the shirt off your back, giftwrap your best coat and make a present of it. 41 And if someone takes unfair advantage of you, use the occasion to practice the servant life. 42 No more tit-for-tat stuff. Live generously

Those are fighting words if I’ve ever heard them. If someone does you wrong and you know full well it was there intention. If you’re anything like me, you involuntarily begin to plot their demise. Admittedly, I need lots and lots of God’s help in this area. I worked for the “mother of Satan” atleast that’s what my wife called her, for about five years. I really felt like I was in hell. I pretty much went in the door fighting and I left out the door fighting. One of the things I regret was not being at a place where I could live generously. I found it impossible to be treated unfairly and without regard and turn around and bless the perpetrator of these personal crimes. I would wonder if God knew what I would be going through when he said such an outlandish thing. Of course He did and I simply need to continue to learn so much more, so I remain at his feet to learn. He came to serve and not to be served and in turn He expects the same from us.

4 thoughts on “Day 15 – Live Generously

  1. What deserves a second look is that picture!! Anyway, that generous living thing is probably the hardest thing. I want to see people treated fairly and I hate to see a person undefended. To a person like me, all things should be equitable, and that’s just not reality.

  2. its so true but its so hard not to hit a bitch back. i have finally been able to let things go but, then again, no one has really tried to cross me recently. Lets hope I can keep positive

  3. I approached my work in comparison to that of a c-worker who behaved like a resentful firstborn. He slacked off after a third employee joined us, and continued to do so over the years. Yet he would do enough work around evaluation time to earn the annual raise based on merit. There was a raise just for seniority, so he was always going to make more money than me, no matter how hard I worked.

    Well, I slacked off as well, but I eventually saw that I had to do my part, and my best, even if I felt unappreciated. And I do feel good if I’m accomplished or when I excel. I actually am uncomfortable when my boss thanks me for doing my freaking job.

    I believe in killing people with kindness. Usually, I ignore people, and I have stewed over their behavior at work. But I feel I need to balance them out, so if someone’s petty or whiny, I am content and praising. Once someone else was stewing and unhappy, and I wasn’t part of that b.s., I felt a clarity and a serenity and wondered if that’s how everyone else felt all the time.

    I’m a spiritual atheist. I tend to avoid the religious because I don’t like to be told what other people’s deities plan for me. But what I’ve read here and at The Way I See It…Now doesn’t make me feel put upon.

  4. Katrice – yep it’s hard but it can be done.

    Nat – praying that you are able to. Good seeing you here please come back.

    Mac – welcome, I’m so glad you didn’t feel put upon, that’s important to me. Please come again

Leave a Reply

