Day 16 – Loving the unlovable

Matthew 5:46 If all you do is love the lovable, do you expect a bonus? Anybody can do that.

Here Jesus does it again; he challenges us to not be content with the minimum and celebrate because we are loving the lovable. He wants us to get to the place where those who get under our skin, the person in the office who just rubs you the wrong way, the relative who seems to have it out for you… Jesus says, don’t let them bring out the worst in you, rather let them bring out the best in you. I can honestly tell you that this is an area of challenge for me. It’s not like I can just work at that today. This is the kind of thing that I have to remain conscious about and work on always. Lord help me to love your people like you love me. Help me to love those who try to hurt me.

2 thoughts on “Day 16 – Loving the unlovable

  1. Okay, I have someone in my life who gets under my skin, a person in my office who rubs me the right way, and a relative who seems to have it out for me. It will take God to bring out that “best” you speak of, because I find it way too easy to just cut people off. Boy, the challenge that is Life.

  2. LOL — She rubs me the wrong way. Geez what a typo!

    In fact she rubbed me the wrong way today, probably trying to get one last irritating act in before I transfer to another department.

Leave a Reply

