Day 17 – Shhh…Keep the secret


Matthew 6:4 so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.

I imagine that in the culture of Jesus’ day many things were different. The more that Jesus reveals about the state and the heart of the people, the more I am convinced that many things were also the same.

People still make a big deal about giving, they seem to want everybody around to know just how wonderful they are and even just how much they have been giving. In the midst of pleadges and money lines, throwing money at the preacher and giving with a particular return or reward as a benefit Jesus reminds us to keep the secret.

Guard the secret even, don’t let the ones closest to you know what you are going for the sake of glory. If you choose to, remember the moment well because that’s all you get.

3 thoughts on “Day 17 – Shhh…Keep the secret

  1. I have always loved this scripture. This one’s easy for me. Who needs to know what I’ve given? I’d rather have an eternal reward than attention for doing what ought to be done anyway. In fact, being made a big deal of is embarrassing. And it actually wins you haters instead of friends.

    Cool pic!

  2. “Doing good by stealth” is never easy – we all want people to love us, and doing good deeds ought to make people love us. As you say, it’s a real trap.
    PS One of your favourite movies is one of mine too: To Kill a Mockingbird.
    Jake

  3. Hey Jake! Welcome to the blog! It’s primarily my husband’s, but Lex and I contribute to it.

    I enjoyed reading about Sophie!

    And wasn’t that an awesome movie? My husband saw it for the first time last year. I guess they didn’t show it in Trinidad. He enjoyed it too.

Leave a Reply

