Day 19 – As we forgive those…

Matthew 6:14(niv) For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.

It’s so hard to forgive an absent father or the predator who abused you as a child. It’s difficult to forgive the one you gave your heart to only to have them treat it like garbage. It’s hard to forgive the one who introduced you to the addiction and the one who kicked you when you were down. It was hard to forgive you. By hard I mean, it took alot and it required the life of God’s only begotten son. Yet outlandish, Jesus says, when you pray, pray this way and focuses on having forgiven others.

Forgiveness, letting go of all that you are entitled to or owed. If you do it for others, God will do it for you.

5 thoughts on “Day 19 – As we forgive those…

  1. I like this line:
    letting go of all that you are entitled to or owed

    Forgiveness is something I’d like to understand. I took a free book from the library on the subject even though I resist self-help. But it’s all about God. There must be some way to approach it in the human realm. Also, the book is about forgiveness as revenge; you will feel like you’ve bested your trespasser. That’s revolting.

  2. That book, whatever it is, doesn’t sound good. Forgiveness is about letting go. Not holding on. Revenge is about holding on. That’s craziness.

  3. M

    As soon as I’m finished responding to all your comments I’m coming to read that post. BTW Thnaks for coming here and welcome.

    This one is hard as many truths are to live. I had to release my Father from the debt he owed me. I had to forgive “the” abuser; (longer will I call him my, he doesn’t belong to me.)

    When I’m having trouble with this, I think of my depravity and God’s extravegant response of love.

Leave a Reply

