Day 22 – Don’t Worry, Be Happy!


Matthew 6:25 “If you decide for God, living a life of God-worship, it follows that you don’t fuss about what’s on the table at mealtimes or whether the clothes in your closet are in fashion. There is far more to your life than the food you put in your stomach, more to your outer appearance than the clothes you hang on your body.

6:30 “If God gives such attention to the appearance of wildflowers – most of which are never even seen – don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you?

Years ago I read the book, Lilies of the Field, before I even knew there was a movie based on it. That book was my first exposure to this scripture, and even as a kid, I was immediately changed. All of a sudden, the fact that God cared about my circumstances became clear. He knew I didn’t have brand-name clothes. He knew it bothered me only because I got teased sometimes. And He cared!

And His call to me? Don’t worry! He takes care of all his creations, down to each individual flower that grows. He took the time to make such a wide variety of them, to add beauty to them, and to provide them with exactly what they need to grow. A little sunshine, a little rain, even a breeze to carry their little seeds away to grow in a new piece of dirt.

He spoke everything else into existence. You, He took his time and formed, carefully, lovingly, and deliberately. How much more will He take care of what concerns you, His greatest treasure?

6 thoughts on “Day 22 – Don’t Worry, Be Happy!

  1. Dang it! Now I’ve got to go back and read this over in Katrice’s voice. I thought you wrote this Kwesi. I was wondering about the narcissistic comment.

  2. Oh, that would be so sad if Kwesi had to comment to himself to feel some love.

    One day, I heard on the radio a song that called to me. It turned out to be Kirk and the Family:
    His eye is on the sparrow
    I know he watches over me

    I still love church songs.
    In the same vein, from my Catholic hymnal Glory & Praise (possibly Vol. II):
    And He will raise you up
    on eagle’s wings
    bear you on the breath of dawn
    make you to shine like the sun
    and hold you in the palm of His hand

  3. M

    That would be sorry indeed and very very sad. I love the fact that God is so present and involved in our lives. It’s great to know He isn’t this cosmic kill-joy folk make Him out to be.

Leave a Reply

