For the love of our children

nature-girl2.jpg

Yesterday my daughter wanted to go walking. She wanted to add to her rock collection. It was a chance to spend time with the family outside of the house, and I love walks anyway, so off to the park we went. We get there and the state park has a fee. We didn’t feel like paying to walk, so we went to the trail we noticed close by. Out of the car and on paved path, easy enough I thought.

We start walking, noticed some interesting signs about poisonous snakes and plants and animals that bite that we shouldn’t feed. Then the paved path disappears and before I know it, I find myself climbing a mountain. I’m not walking, I’m hiking! Half way up the mountain not knowing how far I have to go, I’m thinking to myself, “Oh, the things we do for the love of our children.”

All in all “Nature girl” inspired us to try something new and actually wonderful. Now I’m on a quest to find a longer hiking trail. I love a challenge! Have you ever been hiking? Do tell.

2 thoughts on “For the love of our children

  1. oooo! I love to hike! But, um, where the hell are mountains in Texas?!? Are you making a mountain out of a mole-hill, Kwesi? tee hee

    Nature Girl and I are soul mates!!!

    I want to hike with you when I visit next, but I’m paying the fee. I bet they have a poisonous snake free trail!

Leave a Reply

