Rethinking What God Said

On one side of the discussion you have those who say, God is no longer speaking directly to individuals.  There is no new revelation after the close of the cannon.  On the other side, there are those who hear God speak all of the time.

“God told me to tell you tonight that if you praise, if you praise him like you’ve lost your mind, your deliverance is guaranteed!”

“In the back before the show, God spoke to me.  He told me to tell you that if you give $2008 , you will get your breakthrough tonight.”

“God told me that this is your year!”

“God said it’s time to go to a new level!”

“God said go!”

Or did God say, “Stay?” 

Special revelation is how utterances given to individuals, supposedly directly from God are referred to. If special revelation is in effect today, how are we to know when it’s a true word from God? 

Now some would answer, if a prophet presumes to speak for God and what he says does not come to pass, then he is a false prophet.  Based on that, there are so many.  Today claiming to be prophet is not a requirement to speak for God; seems everybody is qualified for a direct word from God.

What happens then when the word of God is not measurable?  “God said 10 people here need to give $1000, and if they do, their dream will come to pass.”  Which dreams?  Is everybody’s dreams, going to come to pass?  Is it only going to come to pass if I give what is asked for? If twelve people respond, do we select which ten get the promise and send the others back with their monies?  

How do you personally judge whether a word is from God or not?

I remember a family in our church back in Trinidad wanted to leave the country.  They’d made their decision to leave.  They asked the church to come to their house for a prayer meeting.  That night the strangest thing happened.  God appears to have lost it for a moment.  One sister spoke in tongues and then gave the Word of the Lord which was emphatic that God was with them and would bless them like never before in the new land that they were to inhabit.  Later on, one of the leaders of the church joined us and, not knowing what was prophesied earlier, said the exact opposite.  He came short of predicting their death if they continued in disobedience and even more emphatically declared that God said they should not leave.  What followed next was mass confusion and many opinions about who was right and who was wrong.  Somebody was wrong and it was not God. 

Have you ever received a word that was absolutely inaccurate?  What was your response to the messenger?  Have you ever received a word that left you in awe, so correct that it was undeniable?

How do we discern what is God and what is not God?  When I hear quid pro quo prophecies, I remind myself of the Word of God.

Psalms 84:11 For the Lord God is a sun and shield; The Lord will give grace and glory; No good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly.

Psalm 34:9, 10 Fear the Lord, you his saints, for those who fear him lack nothing. The lions may grow weak and hungry, but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.

Have you ever been in a setting where a leader or pastor refuted a word as not from God? What are the checks and balances?

I’m still thinking.  If you have an opinion, good book reference, an experience, please feel free to share it.

9 thoughts on “Rethinking What God Said

  1. Well, here are my thoughts on this one:

    I certainly am glad that I know a personal God who speaks to me about me and not about other people’s business. That way, I don’t have to depend on someone else to tell me anything from God, and I don’t have to be responsible for getting someone else’s message wrong.

    I think the church would benefit from teaching people to be still and listen for God to speak to them, instead of placing such a premium on the “man of God” or the “prophet” or “anointed one” or whomever.

    I made a statement earlier this week that I regreted the time I spent teaching in the church because I feared I had co-signed on some things I am not really about. When I read this, it reminded me that, no, I always did stay towards the outer fringe and I would have told anyone asking me then for a word from God exactly what I’ve said here.

    Peace!

    Lexi

  2. Good topic to open up for discussion. I do believe that there are many false prophets in the church community today. What we have to remember is God’s word – the Apostle Paul said it best, that even the devil transforms himself into an angel of light. 2 Corinthians 11:14.

    If you have a relationship with God the Father, through Jesus the Son, and you’re filled with the Holy Spirit, you’ll know who the real prophets are and who are not.

    You must be “tight” with God to know the difference because the devil (false prophets) are very slick, crafty, and smooth and they use the word of God in some cases, and in others all they do is tell people what they want to hear!

    I’ve been approached by a hand full of people over the years that have given me a word from God and they were right on the money! For me, it was more of a confirmation than a prophesy. There was a time in my early Christian years when I wanted a prophet or prophetess to call me out of the congregation and give me a word from God, but that never happened. Needless to say, the more I studied His word and drew closer to Him, the more I began to here him for myself and I didn’t need a prophet or prophetess to tell me anything because I had my own personal relationship with the Lord and God would reveal to me or tell me things I desired to know or give me instructions on what He wanted me to do.

    I was just reading this in John 10, Jesus said in verse 16, “and other shepp I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd.”

    Verse 27, “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.”

    Go back to verse 5, “and a stranger (false prophet) will they not follow, but will fless from him; for they know not the voice of strangers (false prophets or anyone NOT connected to God by Jesus).

    And I’ll top it all off with this scripture: John 14:26, Jesus said, “But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.”

    Seek out God for yourself and draw closer to Him. He desires to fellowship with us one on one. Now, from what I know from the Old Testament, Prophets were generally (in most cases) the bearers of bad news because the people were in sin. Then there were those few times in scripture where those “false prophets” were trying to say good things, but God busted them out and dealth with them. Read Jeremiah 23:9-40.

    Peace be with you and your household in Jesus name, Amen!

  3. @CT:

    Good exposition, I believe that God speaks into the spirit of His children and guides them through His Word. The other “prophelying” is religous show that many “prophets” use to show how “deep” they are.

    @Tony:
    Amen brother, AMEN!

  4. did he or didn’t he, that is the question. i think we as christians like the feeling of seeing people do well, but we also like feeling inportant. i think most people who speak these false folishness, just need to be heard. its really an issue of self, if anything!

  5. As leaders, I think that we need to have enough faith to trust God with his children. If we really trust Him to lead, guide, and nurture his own, we won’t feel the need to micro-manage their relationships with God. After all, it is a full-time job following Him for myself.

    Of course, we are to help encourage, build each other up, and even give wisdom when we see a fellow human in need. It is my understanding that this is exactly what prophecy should do. It may provide encouragement, confirmation of what God has already said, or a warning to adhere to some instruction that God has already given.

    I think prophecy sometimes gets confused with fortune-telling or predicting.

  6. I believe true prophesy is always confirmed by God to the individual.
    Really! The magnificent work of Jesus Christ on the cross was truly finished, meaning complete.
    Every provision that could possibly be made by Him, was made. Its already provided. All we need to do is be obedient.
    Phil. 4:19 God would supply all needs! but we are so greedy we put wants in there, then we look up to the false prophet to promise us lies, why! because God did not say it. It is not written. Rule; if it is not written, it is a big bold face lie.

    Remember now, some people like the propheliars, they attend the meetings praying that the minister would agreed with what they want, not what the Word say’s, if he’s in agreement with what they want, he is a good prophet.

    In times passed I also fell for the do this and that would happen prophesies, but maturity is Key. Knowing His word and knowing Him personally.

  7. Katrice and Anna’s comments have caused me to realize that I slipped up and didn’t respond to earlier comment, my apologies.

    @ Lex

    “I certainly am glad that I know a personal God who speaks to me about me and not about other people’s business”

    I love that! Yes I think the move from same level small meetings to elevated pulpits has lead to an elevated mindset of many leaders.

    This is all still about a personal relationship with Jesus Christ after all.

    @ Toni

    Preach Black Man!

    @ How deep they and how special and powerful. What a joke.

    @ Joshua

    Yes sir, pride comes before a fall… still does

  8. Pingback: A Year’s Worth of Conversation « SCREAM

Leave a Reply

