A Fool's Worship

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.

Proverbs 1:7

Growing up without a father to guide and direct me has made me foolish at times.

Because I’ve been able to do whatever I wanted for so long,  trying to live a consistently submitted life to you God is difficult, but you know this.  In the early days of our relationship I lived like I could fool you.  It’s funny to think about it now, but God you know I was serious about it then.  I was religious and my religion was not true.  Honestly my religion was an insult to you, I now realize.  I didn’t know you, I put no effort into studying your word and trying to discover the things you’ve revealed to us about yourself.  The more I get to know you, the more I am humbled by your love for me.  Having a better understanding of your nature, your majesty, and your awesomeness, has allowed me to better understand my frailty, inadequacies and weakness.  I need you.  Everyday that goes by I need you more desperately than the day before.

Help me to be ever submitted to you.  Father keep me from returning to my foolish ways, my days of thinking I can outsmart you.  Thank you for loving me patiently while I was but a fool.

Leave a Reply

