Treasure Hunt

Proverbs 2

4 if you seek it like silver and search for it as for hidden treasures,

5 then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.

Your word, God, is a treasure.  I remember in the days of my bondage, in the days of my slavery and torture I sought you.  You directed me to your word, God, your written word, and I tried to devour it like a glutton would his favorite plate.   Slowly my thinking changed, slowly my desires changed.  Your word turned something in me.  The sin I once sought out as treasure, I began to run and hide from.  The taste for my evil  desires died.  Your word has been to me like a mega dose of essential vitamins.  I look back, I see where you’ve brought me from.  I look back, I hear the moans of those still there.  I look back and I wonder.  How is it that I survived?  How is it that I’m alive?  The snare is broken and I’ve escaped.  My help was in the hunt.  The treasure hunt.

Your word is my prize possession, Father.  May I never put it up for safe keeping or put it on display for show.  Help me to receive your word and treasure up your commandments.  Amen

Leave a Reply

