Haughty eyes, lying tongue

Proverbs 6

16 There are six things that the Lord hates, seven that are an abomination to him:
17 haughty eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood,
18 a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that make haste to run to evil,
19 a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers

Father I want to hate what you hate and love what you love.  Help me not to be involved in theses things that are an abomination to you.  May I never look upon another disdainfully proud, with a look that says I am better than you.  May I never be involved in the devastation of another by hand or by tongue.  Lord, I need you to help me with my speech.  May I walk in forgiveness and never seek revenge or intend evil for another.  May my feet run to you and away from evil, never asking how close can I get to sin on a technicality but how far away can I stay from it, for you have set me free.  Finally, Father, may the words of my mouth be truth and love, never bitterness, contempt and hate. 

Father, help me as I strive to worship you in my speech, and in my ways, all day long.  Amen

Leave a Reply

