A prostitute and bread

Proverbs 6:26 for the price of a prostitute is only a loaf of bread, but a married woman hunts down a precious life.

Prostitutes come in all shapes and sizes.  Female, male, virtual and imaginary, the concept is the same.  It’s an exchange of price for pleasure.  It’s a guilty, ugly exchange. 

How many times in the past have I gone for the cheap thrill instead of embracing the shed blood?  How many times have I allowed the prostitute to leave me with only a loaf of bread, instead of receiving the bread of life?  You have favored me, blessed me with a wife that hunts the precious life with me.  She adds value to my life and supports the fulfilment of my destiny.  Together we are molding our children to honor and adore you.  Your plan for my life is perfect. 

When the prostitute returns, when she flips her wig or twirls her weave…  when she flirts with lips the color of blood and the glittering nails of a tigress, may I remember to ignore her.  She is only out to break me, to strip me, to kill me,  but you’ve come to give me life abundant, full and free.  What a beautiful exchange, your life for my mess.  Unmerited, unbelievable, undeniably you love me. 

Father, may I always remember the cost of your love towards me and strive to live worthy of it. Amen

One thought on “A prostitute and bread

Leave a Reply

