No Shame

Proverbs 10:5  He who gathers in summer is a prudent son, but he who sleeps in harvest is a son who brings shame.

Just the idea of being your son God, plucks at the strings of my heart.  My biological father never treated me like a son should be treated.  Growing up fatherless did a couple of things for me.  First it made me want to be a great dad, secondly it made me want to be a great son.  I never want to bring shame to you.  Lead me in your ways.  I never want to be sleeping when I should be shining.  Help me to be prudent, to do the work that is so needed to bring others into your kingdom. 

Keep my eyes open with compassion and my feet moving with love.  May my eye’s never grow weary, heavy with selfishness and greed.  May my limbs never go limp from a lack of concern for the fatherless and widows, for the lost and hurting.

Father, I want to move when it’s time to more, I want to cry when its time to cry and give all that you’ve called me to give. 

Bless me to be a son that never brings you shame.  In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

