When hope hurts

Proverbs 13:12 Hope deferred makes the heart-sick, but a desire fulfilled is a tree of life.

It was on the darkest of days.  The drought of unemployment had lasted much longer than I ever imagined it would.  Signs everywhere boasted that the water of employment was available. Water over here!  water available here! Some even invited, come taste our great water, but then they revealed that the water drinker position had already been designated to another.  Once I even received the water drinker position but complications dried up the opportunity. On that darkest of days, I cried with every fiber in my body, my tears burned and my heart ached.  I was at the lowest place, in pain and pleading with you God for the ability to provide for my family.  In the darkness of my despair, I couldn’t understand why nothing I hope in would get me a drink of employment; not my experience, not my personality, not my education. Then I remembered…

Psalms 20: 7 Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.

Father it is only you who can grant my heart’s desire and fulfill all my plans.  As dream drift into the distance and hope-clouds hide beyond the horizon, may I always remember and be comforted in my calamity, knowing my hope is in you God.  Amen

Leave a Reply

