Shut up and serve

Proverbs 15:33 The fear of the Lord is instruction in wisdom, and humility comes before honor.

Humilty should be so simple.  It’s just staying in my lane, serving on my road and minding my own business.  It’s easy to see the  potholes on someone elses lane and offer suggestions on how and why they should fix it or even worse, criticize them for not doing so.  It’s easy to look ahead and pretend; if only I were the boss, the pastor, the parent, the president; how wonderful things would be.  It’s easy to plan what I would do if; I get rich, a better job, married, or  have children while I do nothing with the opportunity I have now.  It’s so easy to put my words  out there, speak about matters that don’t directly concern me.  It’s effortless to share a little too much, feel a little too much and judge a little too much.  Like James 3 says;

 How great a forest is set ablaze by such a small fire!  And the tongue is a fire, a world of unrighteousness. The tongue is set among our members, staining the whole body, setting on fire the entire course of life,  and set on fire by hell. 

Father, help me to; stay in my lane, serve on my road and stifle my tongue as I strive.  In Jesus name, amen.

One thought on “Shut up and serve

Leave a Reply

